Share this:

PGA Tour winners, star rookie commit to Barbasol Championship

LEXINGTON, KY (July 7, 2018) – The list of accomplished professional golfers who will be playing in the Barbasol Championship continues to grow with the commitments of Charles Howell III, Hunter Mahan, Ben Crane, Jonathan Byrd and star rookie Beau Hossler. 

“The commitment by players of this caliber is a great reflection of the confidence PGA TOUR pros have in our inaugural tournament, the golf course, our organization, and frankly, the positive image of Kentucky,” said Brooks Downing, Executive Director of the event. “We sense their excitement in coming here to play, and we’re certainly excited to host and show them all our Bluegrass hospitality.”

The Barbasol Championship, the first state’s only annual PGA TOUR event, will be played Thursday through Sunday, July 19-22, at Champions at Keene Trace in Nicholasville, just outside Lexington.

The field of 132 players currently represents close to 160 total TOUR victories as well as major championships, multiple Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup team appearances. The commitment deadline for players to play in the Barbasol Championship is Friday, July 13th.

Charles Howell III, from Augusta, Ga., is a two-time PGA TOUR winner. Howell captured the 2000 NCAA Division I individual golf championship while at Oklahoma State, also guiding the Cowboys to the NCAA Men’s team title. After receiving the prestigious Haskins Award for the outstanding collegiate golfer, he turned pro later that year and went on to capture the 2002 Michelob Championship in Williamsburg, Va., and the 2007 Nissan Open in Los Angeles. The 39-year old’s resurgent career saw him go into a playoff in the 2017 Quicken Loans National in Washington, D.C. before losing out to Kyle Stanley. He is currently ranked 34th on the FedExCup points list with four Top-10 finishes this season.

Hunter Mahan, another Oklahoma State TOUR pro and Haskins Award winner (2003), will be recognizable to Kentucky golf fans. Mahan was a member of the United States squad that captured the 2008 Ryder Cup at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville. Mahan has six PGA TOUR victories including two World Golf Championships and a FedExCup Playoff event since turning professional in 2003. His victory in the 2012 WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship came 2&1 over Rory McIlroy. The 36-year old native Californian was a two-time first team All-American while at OK State, and runner-up in the 2002 U.S. Amateur Championship.

Five-time PGA TOUR winner Ben Crane turned pro out of Oregon in 1999. His first victory came in 2003 at the Bellsouth Classic in Atlanta and his most recent win came in the 2014 FedEx St. Jude Classic in Memphis. The 42-year old also claimed two titles on the Tour before gaining his PGA TOUR playing privileges in 2002

Jonathan Byrd is perhaps best known of his “Walk Off Hole-In-One.” The five-time PGA TOUR winner and 2002 Rookie of the Year captured the 2010 Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospital for Children Classic in Las Vegas in most dramatic fashion. On the fourth playoff hole and with daylight fading on the par-3 17th at TPC Summerlin, Byrd holed out his tee shot to capture his fourth TOUR victory. The 40-year old was Clemson’s first four-time All-American. Byrd’s pro career is back on the upswing after winning the 2017 Tour Championship and returning this season to the PGA TOUR.

PGA TOUR rookie Beau Hossler has quickly made a name for himself as a professional with two runner-up performances already this season. The Texas star was tied for the lead after the final round of the Houston Open this past April before losing in a playoff to Ian Poulter. The 23-year old Californian tied for second at the recent Travelers Championship in Hartford, Conn., has five total Top-10 finishes this season, and is currently 23rd on the FedExCup points list.

Daily and week-long grounds passes can be purchased at A Thursday grounds pass is $30 with Friday priced at $35 and the Saturday/Sunday rate at $40 per day. All four-day pass can be purchased for $100, with upgraded ticket options available as well.          

Additional player commitments will be announced next week.  For detailed tournament information, visit 

Spectator Parking & Shuttle Information

All spectator parking for the Barbasol Championship will be at Keeneland with shuttle buses running to the course continuously throughout the day. Daily parking during competition rounds on ThursdaySunday is $10 per day with free parking offered for practice days on Tuesday/Wednesday.

There will be no spectator parking at Champions at Keene Trace. In addition, Delaney Ferry Road near the course will be “restricted access,” and no local “park and walk” opportunities will be available. Those spectators utilizing a ride-share drop-off and pick-up lot will be available off Keene South Elkhorn Road (KY-1267) with local shuttle transporting spectators to the course.

Spectator parking passes for ThursdaySunday at Keeneland are available for purchase now at Keeneland also will play host to the Concours d’Elegance car show on Saturday, July 21, so spectators are encouraged to purchase parking passes in advance to secure a spot at the track.

Parking/Shuttle Fast Facts

  • All general parking will be at Keeneland and patrons must enter at Gate 2 (Old Clubhouse entrance)
  • Keeneland shuttles will start running at approximately 7 a.m. on ThursdaySunday and run approximately 90 minutes following the conclusion of play each evening
  • Price: $10 per tournament day with free parking available on Tuesday/Wednesday
  • No parking or drop-offs allowed at the course or within a 1.5 mile stretch of Delaney Ferry Road around the course
  • Ride-share (Uber, Lyft, taxi) lot will be available on Keene South Elkhorn (KY-1267) with local shuttles to the course

Tournament Bag Policies

A clear-bag policy will be in effect for spectators coming to the Barbasol Championship. No bags larger than 6” x 6” x 6”, other than diaper and medical bags, will be permitted. Clear bags smaller than 12” x 6” x 12” and 1-gallon plastic freezer bags will be allowed. Full tournament policies, including prohibited items, can be found at  

Leave a Reply