Share this:

UK softball will face two World Series teams in Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic

Shortstop Katie Reed is one of UK’s returning starters. (UK Athletics Photo)

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The first details of the 2019 Kentucky Softball schedule have been announced, as the Wildcats will be returning to Palm Springs, Calif., to once again participate in the Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic.

Kentucky will be facing three PAC-12 opponents, including 2018 Women’s College World Series runner’s-up, Washington, WCWS semifinalists, UCLA, and California – in addition to North Carolina and Bethune Cookman.

The action in the desert gets underway for the Wildcats on the afternoon of Thursday, Feb. 22 at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT against UNC.

UK’s games against UNC, Bethune Cookman, Washington and UCLA will all take place at the Wrigley Field of Big League Dreams. The Wildcats and California will play on the Fenway Park field. All teams except North Carolina qualified for the NCAA Tournament last season.

Once again, FloSOFTBALL will be streaming most games of the tournament. More details on the games and pricing of the stream will be available at a later date.

UK Opponents by the Numbers

North Carolina – Member of the Atlantic Coast Conference, finished third in the ACC in 2018, second in the Coastal Division … Ended the season ranked No. 69 in the NCAA RPI … Did not make the NCAA Tournament.

 

Bethune Cookman – 31-26 last season … Winners of the MEAC Tournament Championship … Was placed into the 2018 NCAA Gainesville Regional and was eliminated with losses to No. 2 Florida and South Florida.

 

Washington – Runner’s up at the 2018 NCAA Women’s College World Series … Finished the season with a 52-10 overall record and 5th in the NCAA RPI … Winners of the Seattle Regional, and Seattle Super Regional on the way to Oklahoma City.

 

California – 35-21 a season ago with a 7-16 record in PAC-12 play … Eliminated in the 2018 NCAA Athens Regional by the Northwestern Wildcats … Finished the season ranked 32 in the NCAA RPI … UK’s 2011 NCAA Lexington Super Regional opponent.

 

UCLA – 2018 NCAA Women’s College World Series semifinalists … 58-7 overall on the season and ended the year No. 3 in the RPI … UK’s 2014 NCAA Los Angeles Super Regional opponent.

 

About the Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic

For more information visit www.marynutterclassic.com.

 

Kentucky’s Mary Nutter Schedule

Thursday, Feb. 22

Kentucky vs. North Carolina (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

Kentucky vs. Bethune Cookman (8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT)

 

Friday, Feb. 23

Kentucky vs. Washington (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)

 

Saturday, Feb. 24

Kentucky vs. California (6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

Kentucky vs. UCLA (8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. ET

Leave a Reply