Share this:

Josh Allen Walter Camp Player of Year finalist

Josh Allen (Jeff Houchin Photo)

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky senior linebacker Josh Allen has been named one of five finalists for the 2018 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

Allen, a 6-foot-5, 260-pound linebacker from Montclair, New Jersey, is the only defensive player named a finalist. The others are quarterbacks Will Grier (West Virginia, senior), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, junior), Gardner Minshew (Washington State, senior) and Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama, sophomore).

Allen has been a terror on defense the entire season as he leads the Southeastern Conference and ranks third nationally in sacks (14.0) and leads the league and ranks 11th nationally in tackles for loss (18.5). He also is tied for the NCAA lead in most forced fumbles (five).


Interesting Allen notes:

  • Broke Kentucky single-season (14) and career records (28.5) for sacks
  • 12 of his 14 sacks have come in the second half, including eight in the fourth quarter
  • 11 career forced fumbles tie former Wildcat and current Chicago Bear linebacker Danny Trevathan for UK’s career mark (forced fumbles stats available since 1988)
  • First-Team Mid-Season All-America by The Associated Press,, Pro Football Focus and The Athletic
  • Three-time National Defensive Player of the Week
  • Four times SEC Defensive Player of the Week this season, including two wins he clinched with a sack, fumble, and UK recovery on the final possession
  • 84 total tackles, six QB hurries, four pass breakups and two fumble recoveries
  • Current finalist for the Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award and Butkus Award
  • Current semifinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy


The 2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 6 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.


The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 52nd annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, Jan. 12, 2019 at Yale University’s Lanman Center.


1 comment

  1. Of course, he has no chance to win this award because his competition are the media darlings of college football. But there is no player who contributed to his team’s success than Josh. He continually broke up more drives and terrorized more QB’s than any defensive player in the country. He did this while being doubled-teamed or held on almost every play.

Leave a Reply