Share this:

UK signee Tyrese Maxey, UK commit Kahlil Whitney both named McDonald’s All-Americans


Kentucky signee Tyrese Maxey and Kentucky commit Kahlil Whitney, who plans to sign with the Wildcats in a few months, were both named to the McDonald’s All American Game set for March 27 in Atlanta. Both will play for the West in the game that will air at 7 p.m. on ESPN2.

Once Whitney signs, that will give Kentucky coach John Calipari 35 players who have been named to the McDonald’s All-American game during his tenure at Kentucky. He had five players named in both 2013 and 2017.

Maxey is averaging 22 points, 6.2 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 1.7 steals per game for South Garland (Texas) High School. The 6-4 Maxey can play either guard position and is a consensus top 15 recruit. He also played for USA Basketball last summer.

The 6-7 Whitney, a Chicago native, plays for Roselle Catholic (New Jersey) is a consensus top 10 player. He plans to sign with UK on May 3.

There are two Duke commits  (Wendell Moore and Vernon Carey Jr.), two Arizona commits (Josh Green and Nico Mannion) and two Villanova commits (Bryan Antoine and Jeremiah Robinson-Earl) on the team along with UK recruiting targets Matthew Hurt, Jaden McDaniels and Anthony Edwards.

Kentucky has signed 66 McDonald’s All Americans since the team began in 1977, including current Wildcats Keldon Johnson (2018), EJ Montgomery (2018), Immanuel Quickley (2018), Nick Richards (2017) and PJ Washington (2017). Graduate transfer Reid Travis was also a McDonald’s All American in 2014, although he did not sign with UK out of high school.

 Former and current Wildcats who played in the McDonald’s All America Game previously during Calipari’s tenure include: Bam Adebayo (2016), Devin Booker (2014), Isaiah Briscoe (2015), DeMarcus Cousins (2009), Anthony Davis (2011), De’Aaron Fox (2016), Archie Goodwin (2012), Quade Green (2017), Aaron Harrison (2013), Andrew Harrison (2013), Dakari Johnson (2013), Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (2011), Johnson (2017), Sacha Killeya-Jones (2016), Kevin Knox (2017), Terrence Jones (2010), Brandon Knight (2010), Doron Lamb (2010), Marcus Lee (2013), Trey Lyles (2014), Malik Monk (2016), Montgomery (2018), Alex Poythress (2012), Quickley (2018), Julius Randle (2013), Richards (2017), Marquis Teague (2011), Karl-Anthony Towns (2014), Tyler Ulis (2014), Jarred Vanderbilt (2017), Washington (2017), Kyle Wiltjer (2011) and James Young (2013).

Tickets for the 2019 McDonald’s All American Games will go on sale via Ticketmaster or the Philips Arena box office. Ticket on-sale details will be shared via the McDonald’s All American Games social media soon.

Leave a Reply