Larry Vaught

Author's posts

Petrino excited about depth Louisville now has

Louisville came from behind to beat UK last year. (Vicky Graff Photo)

Louisville came from behind to beat UK last year. (Vicky Graff Photo)

It’s never too early when it comes to talking Kentucky-Louisville, so here’s part of what Louisville coach Bobby Petrino had to say at the Atlantic Coast Conference Football Kickoff. Enjoy.

Q. What can you say since your return to Louisville have been the biggest improvements going into this season, what you’ve seen out of each of the units as a whole?
COACH PETRINO: The first year that we came in, we had a very, very talented group coming back. The problem was there was like 23 seniors. I think we had three or four juniors that came out, too. We had a really good year. I was impressed.

Couch knows key to UK’s season, bowl chances


It’s not hard for former Kentucky and NFL quarterback Tim Couch to figure out what coach Mark Stoops needs to have happen this season to get Kentucky to a bowl game.

Couch was one of those who helped convince Stoops to leave Florida State for UK and also had a hand in putting Stoops in touch with Neal Brown, Couch’s former teammate who was Stoops’ offensive coordinator the first two years at UK.

Each of the last two seasons, UK got five early wins but could not get a sixth win to become bowl eligible. Couch believes UK can change that this season with one big if.

MKG: Bam Adebayo is “a dog”

Bam Adebayo (McDonald's All-American Photo)

Bam Adebayo (McDonald’s All-American Photo)


Need another reason to feel good about Kentucky freshman Edrice “Bam” Adebayo.

Well, you got it from former UK standout Michael Kidd-Gilchrist Saturday when he said during a press conference before a basketball camp at UK that he was impressed with John Calipari’s new players even though he had not yet played with them.

“I like Bam for sure, for sure. “And (De’aaron) Fox, Malik (Monk) and Isaiah (Briscoe) for sure,” Kidd-Gilchrit said.

He said he’s already excited to see what next season will be like for Calipari’s team.

Did Kidd-Gilchrist take shot at UK football? I say no, no, no


If there is one person I am sure would never deliberately insult any University of Kentucky athlete. That’s why I hope everyone understands Kidd-Gilchrist was joking Saturday when some took offense at what he said about UK’s new $45 million football training facility.

Kidd-Gilchrist, a starter on UK’s 2012 national championship team who now plays for the Charlotte Hornets, was in Lexington to participate in the UK’s SkillZ and DrillZ Camp for boys and girls ages 7-17.

During his media conference, which he ended by shaking hands with media members,

Kendra Harrison shares thoughts after setting world record

6Hkg24wrqsydd3GPE2SPu7iEH9lEJGGepwYQ4gUFIS6-s8vOVVQvSkEwZ2csWkA1b6tOyr6xn9h8UZJjWZy7NWIt9QfcJLbm2s8rz34fYJBcEQpSHZoRRZG03Hz2_KLpMKjHQFaOrVoN5NwQ=s0-d-e1-ftHere is what former UK track star Kendra Harrison had to say in London Friday night after setting a new world’s record in the 100-meter hurdles:

Opening Statement

“After prelims [today], I finally got my confidence back. I told myself that I can do this and my coach told me to lean [at the line]. My practices after Trials were great, so going into the race, I had so much vengeance and so many emotions inside of me. I’m just blessed to go out there and give it all I have. To see that time, I was really happy.”

Training center has everything players need and everything to wow recruits

New weight room (Vicky Graff Photo)

New weight room (Vicky Graff Photo)


Never again can Kentucky football use the lack of facilities as an excuse for not competing with other teams in the Southeastern Conference.

Media members got a look Thursday at the $45 million Kentucky Football Training Center where players will eat, train, study, practice and recover.

The 100,000 square foot building is also designed for another purpose — to impress recruits and convince them to become future Wildcats.

The new facility is next to Commonwealth Stadium and the Nutter Field House.

UKTF Alumna Kendra Harrison Breaks 100m Hurdles World Record

Kendra Harrison

Kendra Harrison

LONDON – Kentucky track and field Class of 2015 alumna Kendra Harrison broke the 28-year-old world record in the 100-meter hurdles, winning the Diamond League London Anniversary Games, on Friday at the Olympic Stadium.

Harrison blitzed the world-class field, running 12.20 (+0.3) to break Yordanka Donkova’s previous world record of 12.21 from 1988.

“I wanted to come out here with a vengeance to show these girls what I have,” Harrison said.

“That 12.40 got my confidence back. I knew I had it in me, I ran as hard as I could today.”

Cambridge Place honoring Dallas Owens Saturday


In the heart of Lexington, you will find Cambridge Place, a welcoming environment with a compassionate, caring group of workers who go above and beyond for your loved one. Cambridge cares about their residents, just like University of Kentucky cares about their players and students.

But some people believe that those players, the ones that push themselves and their bodies to the limit everyday, are forgotten about after their four years as an athlete are over with.

New UK training facility “incredible”


Kentucky’s new training facility will be showed off to media members this afternoon and I can’t wait for the tour after seeing pictures Thursday when the players got their look at the new facility.

Jeremy Jarmon was at Kentucky for four years and then played two years in the National Football League with Washington. He was impressed with what he said.

“Everything is so well thought out. It is incredible,”  Jarmon said.

Kentucky recruiting coordinator Vince Marrow has said the facility is easily among the top five in the nation. Others have speculated it is better than many NFL training facilities.

Givens: Calipari made Joe Hall relevant again

Joe Hall (Vicky Graff Photo)

Joe Hall (Vicky Graff Photo)


There are a lot of reasons that former Kentucky All-American Jack Givens likes current Kentucky coach John Calipari.

“One of the first things he did when he came here is that he went to coach Joe B. Hall and asked what do I need to do to be successful and what do I need to know to really expect here at Kentucky,” said Givens.

Of course, Givens played for Hall and helped Kentucky win the 1978 national title.